The Regional District

The Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District (SQCRD) is a partnership of four electoral areas and five municipalities that provide local government services to 19,000 residents living on the north coast of British Columbia and Haida Gwaii, within the traditional territories of the Tsimshian and Haida First Nations.

Formed in 1967, the SQCRD is one of 28 regional districts in the Province of British Columbia created to provide a forum for direct representation of those areas that previously had no political voice. It provides for greater local control over services and issues of local importance to urban and rural areas and it provides a mechanism for advancing the issues of the region as a whole.

The SQCRD administers services ranging from solid waste management and recycling to land use planning, water supply and public safety.

The municipalities and electoral areas in the SQCRD are:

City of Prince Rupert
District of Port Edward
Village of Queen Charlotte
Village of Port Clements
Village of Masset
• Electoral Area A - Dodge Cove
• Electoral Area C - Oona River
• Electoral Area D – rural Graham Island (Miller Creek, Lawnhill, Tlell, Nadu, Tow Hill)
• Electoral Area E – Sandspit

The SQCRD, like all local governments, is granted its powers by the provincial government and is directed primarily by two provincial pieces of legislation – the Local Government Act and the Community Charter. The SQCRD is governed by a Board of Directors made up of  six municipal and  four electoral area directors.

For more detailed information relating to Regional Districts, click on the following link: A Primer on Regional Districts in British Columbia.

Skeena Queen Charlotte Regional District
14-342 3rd Avenue West
Prince Rupert, B.C.  V8J 1L5

Phone: (250) 624-2002
Toll Free: 1-888-301-2002
Fax: (250) 627-8493